Forum » The Geeks Corner » Crypto Currency » Building your own miners - DIY crypto mining

Building your own miners - DIY crypto mining

• OK there is so much to think about when building your own miner or miners. Like I have said a few times I'm no pro at crypto-mining. But I am a SUPER geek and I have build so many custom things just to get in the top 10 on futuremark or in the old days to get to first place! (Futuremark benchmarking the faster user computers in the world)
    1.) Which operating system to install?
    2.) Which motherboard?
    3.) Which CPU?
    4.) Which memory?
    5.) Which power supply?
    6.) Which hard drive?
    7.) Which video cards and how many?
    8.) What to mine?
    9.) How to build the system with racks to hold the video cards, motherboard, hard drive, power supply...

I will go over these one at a time.

1.) Which OS:
    Well there are limits and it depends on which CPU, how many video cards are you going to use. Linux has no limit on video cards you can use use as many as you like! But make sure Linux drivers work for the cards! I haven't had a problem with any Nvidia cards 750 to 1080's all work. But AMD/ATI cards no so much. :( Windows 7 you need to watch which CPU you use and it has a 4 video card limit that you can force to 6 cards. If you go with Windows 7 and get a 7th or 8th generation CPU windows nag-ware will turn on. (hidden in a security roll-up update). Telling you can't get updates, your OS doesn't support this CPU. Which of course is BS Microsoft is just trying to get you to downgrade to Windows 10! You can download this wufuc https://github.com/zeffy/wufuc/releases/tag/v1.0.0.191 it will stop the nag-ware for new Intel & AMD cpu's. Yes they work just fine it's just Microsoft trying to get you to install their POS Windows 10!